Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
davemichigan

Containers and Strong Wind

davemichigan
15 years ago

Hi, I am new to gardening. Last winter I got 5 amaryllises. They are in small containers. Now that spring has arrived I want to put them outside to receive sunlight.

I thought how hard can that be? Just take them out, right? NOOOO! I found that winds can easily turn them over.

So what should/can I do? I could probably put all of them inside a storage bin, but that would look ugly.

Thanks in advance for any suggestion!

Comments (5)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    15 years ago

Hasn't this wind just been a pain in the butt, Dave? I've lost a couple of expensive ceramic containers to the wind after they were blown from one of the deck railings. Lots of tattered leaves on the container plants & the big-leafed stuff in the "tropical" bed here, too. First the freezes & now the gales. ;o) Wish I had a suggestion, but I don't - only commiseration. ;o)

Al

• jodik_gw
    15 years ago

Hi guys! I agree that the weather's been a little weird lately... and now, it's the rains!

Dave, I'd group the pots close together for support and protection... this will help a little... if you can find a sheltered spot for them on the east side of a building, that would help, too.

I have this French Willow shrub that I keep pruned into somewhat of a bushy standard, you might say, and it's planted on the east side of a garage... I group my potted bulbs and tender plants under that shrub, and so far, no windblown disasters. It helps that there is another building to the east of that one, about 30 feet away. It's a nice sheltered driveway area between the two buildings, both garages.