Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Container tomato question

Posted by cottonpa none (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 4, 11 at 11:22

apologies ahead of time for sounding novice - it's because I am.
This is my first attempt at container tomatoes. I planted a couple varieties in 5 gallon buckets, drilled holes in bottom and sides for drainage. The bottom is thick bark mulch with organic planting soil on top and around the plant. I water 2-3 times a week and when planted added vigora tomato and veggie food then added that again about a month and a half in.
Plant 1 is producing fruit but the leaves are wilting and turning brown? Pic below - I can't seem to figure out what's going on?
Plant 2 has a couple small green fruits and some leaves, mostly on top, seem healthy - but many others, mostly at bottom, are dark green and seem leathery, and seem to be curling a little around the edges?
Any insight would be greatly appreciated...here are pics of mentioned plants.

PLANT 1

From Jun 3, 2011

LINK
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/ILFpATVyqSGP94Jg43Y978HRLl1dL7HDiCwPd-u9TcY?feat=directlink

PLANT 2

From Jun 3, 2011-2

LINK
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/gBO0GBzeF0EdU2UXbJ30A-aV6UTK9gM9q36TA_8DQjo?feat=directlink

Thank you in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Container tomato question

Mature tomato plants in 5 gallon buckets usually need a lot more water.

o

so maybe water every morning?
thanks for your suggestion.

o

Cant see pics. You say you used bark?

What kind of bark what size. Is it soil conditoner grade. If so and it is the right size it could be the ph if you did not add lime to the bark. The bark has a ph of 4 or so that is way to low, tomatoes like about 5.5-6.5. You could topdress with some lime and see if that works. It could be anothr problem.

If leavs fold up overwatering, leavs fold down underwatering.

o