Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tomato plant tops turning 90 degrees!!

Posted by edweather 5 (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 15, 11 at 14:15

This is my first year growing in containers. I have 8 tomato plants growing in 511, in containers of various sizes....5 gallon to 20 gallon. They are growing well except today I noticed that the tops of the plants....at least half of them, have a curious defect. The tops have taken a 90 degree bend to the south. They are not just leaning over, it's definitely a growth issue. They are different tomato varieties, so it must be something about the container growing medium, conditions, etc. that is making them do this. I could post a photo if necessary. Has anybody else had their tomato tops turn like this?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tomato plant tops turning 90 degrees!!

Are the tomatoes staked or caged? They are vines that will go every which way if you don't train them. Photos would help a lot.

o

They will be caged, but haven't grown big enough to put the cages on yet. I've got thin bamboo stakes at the moment. I've grown tomatoes for years and have never seen anything like this. I'll try to post a photo tomorrow.

o

• Posted by jenn SoCal 9/19 (My Page) on
    Thu, Jun 16, 11 at 12:28

Have you asked the folks in the Growing Tomatoes forum?

o

Do you mean south ? or downward ?

o

In case you don't know how to post a photo, there's a Garden Web FAQ on that.

Here is a link that might be useful: How to post a photo

o

Thanks everyone. I have just been too busy to get the photo posted. I took the picture, but just can't get the 10 minutes to get to the computer. I'm typing this from work. Hopefully I will soon. The tops are not turned down, just 90 degrees, and all in the same general Southerly direction. Since they are in containers, I figured I'd start at this forum. To be continued.........I hope.

o
RE: Tomato plant tops turning 90 degreees!!