Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
texasjack_gw

DIY ph testing....is it worth it ??

texasjack
11 years ago

I'm a container tomato hobbyist and retired Mechanical Engineer. I'm fascinated by the extensive highly technical discussions on plant biology, chemistry, soil mechanics, etc. I find it amazing that anyone can ever grow a successful plant given every thing that can go wrong.How did the Mesoamericans do it without the benefit of Forums, Al, Dave, et. al.( Bless them)?

Is it worth the effort for a hobbyist who doesn't want to invest in lab quality equipment to even bother with the DIY single test kits or low end (cheap)meters? Given the dynamic nature of soil ph, macro and micro nutrient levels, etc. sending a sample out to A&M seems futile.

Any thoughts would be welcome.

Texas Jack

Comments (6)

• capoman
    11 years ago

Best is a midrange level equipment that may not be lab spec, but can give you pH readings within .1 or .2 of accuracy. Even strips can do this, and yes it's worth doing. TDS meters are also just as important for testing water hardness, and fertiizer levels.

What a person doesn't want is one of those cheap stick in the ground probe pH meters. They can be totally unreliable and worthless. Runoff water is not a good test either. Best to soak a soil sample in distilled or even rainwater for a reasonably accurate reading. Getting within .2 pH is close enough.

• greentiger87
    9 years ago

Agreed, the stick meters you buy at the big box stores are terrible. pH strips work well, and the indicator drops sold for hydroponics are versatile and useful as well. Either of those options is relatively inexpensive and more than accurate enough for a hobbyist.