Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrs_greene

Potting mix for Earthtainers?

Mrs.Greene
11 years ago

hello. Please forgive if I am asking a question asked a million times. I am new to self-watering container gardening.

After several years of dismal tomato growing, I am attempting earthtainers for the first time. My dear husband has built me one, and plans to build three more for me tomorrow. I would like to fill them and get my tomatoes planted as soon as possible, as they are in pots that are too small!

I am very confused about the ideal potting mix. I know from poking around here that "Raybo"(who I assume is Ray Newstead?) recommends Sunshine Mix #4, peat and perlite, and as an alternative, Miracle grow or Sta-green.

I can't seem to find Sunshine mix here, and would prefer to use an organic fertilizer so not thrilled with the idea of the MG or Sta-green.

I have also read about the 5-1-1 mix recommended by someone named Al. (I feel like a total newb, feeling I should know who Al is but am clueless)It seems pretty simple

We do have a well-regarded producer of organic compost in my area, Eko-Compost. (ekocompost.com) They do use pine trees in their mix. They have straight compost, a lawn top dressing (screened compost), claybuster formula (with 10% pumice), a potting mix (compost, Canadian sphagnum peat moss, and perlite), and outdoor planting mix (compost, Canadian Sphagnum peat moss, and pumice rock.)

I have used eko with very good results in the past.

So, could the eko be used in a 511 potting mix? Maybe instead of the bark fines? Or would the compost be too rich?If I used compost would I perhaps use less fertilizer?

I was also looking at the organic replacement recipe for the cornell mix.

Many regards, and thanks in advance.

Linette

Comments (20)

• dancinglemons
    11 years ago

Hello Linette,