Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ettaterrell

Tomatos in large pots

ettaterrell
9 years ago

Very newbie here, I have these 25 gal pots that I planted brandy boys and some cherry tomato's in. The cherries have been doing good but the 3 large pots with brandy boys in them started turning yellow at the bottom (studied up and learned it was prob. low on N so I put some 10-10-10 on it and they started doing good. Now 3 weeks later they are doing it again, I went and got some tomato feed that is 2-7-4 they are starting to look better but after the hours of reading I've done I was under the impression you don't fert. that often. So my question is, should I use the 2-7-4 or the 10-10-10 and how often? (these plants are about 4' tall and already producing tomato's, though the tomatoes have stopped growing now) I just need someone to tell me which one and how often. Thanks so much.
Also I might should add these pots are black and I do water every day.

This post was edited by ettaterrell on Tue, Jun 24, 14 at 18:24

Comments (11)

• sharonrossy
    9 years ago

Try to find a ratio like 9-3-6 or 24-8-16. Container growing requires frequent fertilizing, but in weaker doses. Also a slow released fertilizer should've been worked into the medium you are using. You can still scratch that into the surface with some dolomitic lime. Hopefully you have one plant per container. What is your growing mixture.
    Sharon

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    9 years ago

It could be a wilt or blight, Cut off any foliage touching the ground, try not to spash dirt on leaves when watering. Remove yellow foliage.