Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fun_gi

Opinions after my latest trip to the nursery...

fun-gi
11 years ago

Hello everyone,

I recently received a gift from my wife that I had been expecting for several months. While very healthy, I really want to insure the best growth and vitality that I can. So to that end I am contemplating different mediums for the container. If an arguement can be made for the gritty mix, I would consider it since I have many plants already in the mix and they are doing great.

I am unsure of container size since I have such a vigorous grower, but I really enjoy re-potting so I should have no problems there. As far as fertilizer, my wife prefers to handle that, and she uses a natural product that contains all of the major and micronutrients.

Overall I feel confident that I can give the proper care, since I have two very similar examples already. My experience does wane a bit with the more mature specimens, and from what I understand care and patient training will become even more important as they progress.

I know I don't post often, but I value the wisdom of the many knowledgeable posters on this board, so if you have any insights or anecdotes that you would like to share, then I would welcome them.

Thank you,

Billy

{{gwi:38462}}

Comments (23)

• greentiger87
    11 years ago

Awwwwww! Congratulations! I'm way too young to give any advice, other than don't give them too much shelter as they mature, and let them deal with the full stresses of the open sun and air while they can still fall back on your nurturing if necessary. It inevitably results in far more spectacular blooms in the future.

• howelbama
    11 years ago

I vote for the gritty, carefully plant about ankle deep, firm in, and keep well watered for the next 18 years. Apply fertilizer as needed for optimal growth. :) congrats!

• Haname
    11 years ago

The best container for this specimen would be your arms, or your wife's.

:) Beautiful!

• dancinglemons
    11 years ago