Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mark00000

Drainage holes in 100 gallon plastic stock tank

markjg
9 years ago

I'm fairly new to gardening and container gardening. I am trying my hand at growing Phyllostachys Aureosulcata 'Spectabilis' bamboo in a 100 gallon Rubbermaid stock tank. I found an amazing deal on them, shipped. The outside measurements are 53"L 31"W 25"H. I drilled a bunch of 3/4 inch holes in the bottom, maybe too many... but its too late now. It also has a drain hole and cap but I didn't really plan on using it.
I knew the measurements of the tank before it arrived and I knew it was going to be deep. But this thing is HUGE! But its going to be awesome! I plan on building a wood surround for it. The only other options were much shorter at about 12 to 14 inches and I felt that wouldn't support the 18' or taller height that these plants will grow to in a container. So I plan on using plastic bottles in the bottom of the tank to take up some of the space at the bottom. Im thinking about a single layer of gatoraid / oj bottle size containers would be good instead of using Styrofoam.
Should I use garden fabric in the bottom of the tank to stop any dirt from washing out or rodents from getting in? Though we don't really have many rodents around here. Would the garden fabric impede drainage? Ive also read of using a mesh screen, one or the other but not both. Do I need to do anything in order to prevent dirt from washing out? The tank sits on an area of my fenced in, paved backyard, where the pavers sit on a existing concrete pad(15'x8') I don't think there is any danger of the bamboo getting out and taking root. I also plan on setting the tank on 4 or 5 12x12" pavers because the structural walls underneath the tank will stop the flow of water. One paver on each corner and maybe one in the middle. I will be using miracle gro potting mix and a layer of natural cypress mulch.