Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How Much Fertilizer Should I Use?

Posted by ehsteve 7b (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 24, 12 at 20:21

I'm new to container gardening and am looking for advice on how much fertilizer I should use.

I am currently growing tomatoes and peppers in ~7 gallon containers. I am using Miracle Grow tomato Food, it's 10:10:10 with some other nutrients too.

I was adding approx 1 teaspoon to a gallon of water each week, then just using regular water for a mid-week watering. Now that the plants are all producing pretty heavily I've upped the fertilizer to 1 teaspoon twice a week.

Is this too much or too little? How will I know if I'm using too much?

Frankly I have no idea what quantity of fertilizer I should use, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How Much Fertilizer Should I Use?

If the plants look great, just keep doing what you are doing. I like experimenting a little with fertilizer. This year I used more than I usually do and my tomato plants are growing better than ever.....large dark green plants with lots of tomatoes.

o

Dear ehsteve,

If your getting good results ( fruit not just foliage) stick with it. I used the MG 10-10-10 for afew years and was always frustrated. Switched to a 9-3-6 this year and getting splendid production, considering the difficulties with Houston climate.

Many and extensive disscussions about fertilizer for container veggies on this forum and the Tomato Growing forum. Search 9-3-6

Good luck

o