Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladyofdragons

Evergreen Climber for a Patio?

ladyofdragons
12 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to both gardening and this forum so I need a little help. I have a patio of my own finally and want to pretty it up. Most of it is concrete of course with not much space so I want to go a little vertical.

I'm looking for an evergreen climber for a 15-18' section of fence, sun to part shade, and not too easy to kill. My zone is 9a I believe. Hopefully nothing that--uhh-- sticks out too much since it's near a walkway. It doesn't need to be ultra fancy, but warm color blooms that attract hummers or butterflies would be a plus. Fast growth too I suppose, though that's probably instant gratification talking. ;)

Any suggestions? I was looking at Coral Honeysuckle, Lonicera sempervirens?

I've also heard of people planting two vines near each other to get interesting an color combination or longer period of blooms over different seasons. That could be fun but I'm not sure if I have the space?

Also, I already have two skinny redwood planter boxes, about 8"D x 44"L x 10"H. Is that big enough for such a vine or do I need a bigger container?

Thank you in advance!

Comments (4)

• User
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago