Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ash1970_gw

Does NPK fertilizer ratio matter for determinate tomatoes?

ash1970_gw
9 years ago

Hi,

There are all sorts of (conflicting) advice out there about tomato fertilizer NPK ratios to maximize each stage from growth through set, fruiting and harvest - especially specific (and still conflicting) for containers or hydroponics.

I'm curious whether this matters for determinate tomatoes. In other words - just how "programmed" are determinates? Would the final results - amount of leaves, stems, flowers, fruits - be about the same no matter what NPK ratio, as long as the basic macros and micros are all there available for the plant to use?

Thanks for any comments.

-- your basic top-watering, inorganic-fertilizing, container-tomato first-timer

Comments (5)

• fireduck
    9 years ago

Hi A, I am not an expert on the subject of your question. However, I did want to encourage you to continue your quest for knowledge. I have grown maters in containers for awhile...and it is quite rewarding. There are important factors like pot size, growing medium, watering, ferts, support, and of course sunlight. I have an idea as to the answer to your question. However, I will let someone more learned weigh in. have fun!

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    9 years ago