Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My cucumber plants are turning pale and blossome dropping off

Posted by tracychow none (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 26, 14 at 2:29

I'm a newbie in gardening. i started growing the cucumber in pot this april and they were growing well.
3 weeks ago, the plants start to have male flowers buds and i have found some female flower bud since last week.
however, the many of the male flower buds drop off before it opened. And i found my plants are getting pale.
what's wrong with my plants? am i watering too much / less ? too much sunlight or too hot? Cause i'm living in HK and the average temperature during daytime is around 30C from May to July. Please help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My cucumber plants are turning pale and blossome dropping off

Looks like a nitrogen deficiency. How often are you watering?

You should wait until the top two inches of soil is dry before watering. Then drench the soil until you get some good run off from the drain holes.

Stick your finger to you second knuckle. If it comes out dry, then water.

Next time they are due for a watering, give them a feeding with a fret that has a good amount of soluble nitrogen.

Too high temps can cause blossom drop, but I think overwatering/underfeeding is one of your issues.

Do you have bees visiting the flowers often? Pollination could also be a problem. If there are no bees, you will need to hand pollinate with an artists paintbrush.

o
RE: My cucumber plants are turning pale and blossome dropping off

Thanks howelbama,
i water them everyday. i will take your advice and feed them with fertilizer. is phostrogen a right choice?

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!

Return to the Container Gardening Forum

Information about Posting