Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
castorp

'Packing' vegetables in containers?

castorp
12 years ago

I see (in gardening books and on-line) lots of pics of containers just packed with mixed vegetables and herbs. A tomato, a cuke, a basil, a marigold, all sorts of things, will all share the same container. I think these mixed plantings pretty, but is it practical? I realize that they would require frequent watering/feeding--probably very frequent when everything is full grown--but would the quality of the vegetables suffer?

I use Al's 5:1:1 mix. For containers, I'm either going to be using pretty unglazed clay pots--or really ugly plastic 50 gallon drums sawed in half. That's another question. Would a thick-walled plastic drum or terracotta pots be best for this sort of planting?

Thanks.

Bill

Comments (4)

• btbarbara
    12 years ago

I'm new to all this so definitely not an expert but I think there are some plants that complement each other and can share a container better than others. Even for traditional in-ground planting, I've seen sites that refer to good "companion plants" for particular things. Think about the classic "three-sisters" arrangement where you grow corn, pole beans, and squash right on top of each other. I forget the specifics but it's something like the beans convert the nutrients in the soil to a form that's easier for the corn and squash to take up, the corn stalks provide a "pole" for the beans to climb, and the squash shades the roots to keep everybody cool. You can pack those in together and they work very well but some other combinations wouldn't.

As far as what kind of containers to use, I'd steer clear of clay or terra cotta in FL. The clay wicks moisture from the soil and dries it out much faster. I'm in GA and I wound up moving everything I had in clay pots to plastic pretty early on.

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    12 years ago