Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shrubbist

white pine with yellow needles in container

shrubbist
16 years ago

My 1 metre tall weeping white pine has yellowing needles and has stopped growing. I tried replacing the old, heavy soil with a well-draining container mix in a larger container. I fertilize with a handful of organic fertilizer (alfalfa meal, blood meal, greensand, etc.) about twice a year, plus fish fertilizer (liquid) once a month from May to Sept. I have sprayed it with a systemic fungicide and variety of insecticides/miticides at various times (not all at once.) I've been doing this for two years now, and the plant still looks the same. No better, no worse. When I transplanted it I noticed it had what I thought was poor root development. Can anyone help me (and the pine)? Thanks

Comments (8)

• legacy
    16 years ago

Search the Internet a bit. The white pine could be diseased or the yellow needles could be caused by pests. According to Forest Service.edu: "Pine needle miner larvae feed inside needles
    causing them to turn yellow and dry up"

• legacy
    16 years ago

Search for yellowing "weeping white pine" and google Images also for "common diseases for weeping white pine" to ID and narrow down the most likely disease or horticultural problems. Good luck!

• legacy
    16 years ago

If there are no pests or microscopic infestation visible that can be identified, then other common causes of stunted growth (and yellowing) often are associated with water-logged or alkaline soils (or soil pH outside the weeping white pine's preferred range).

• legacy
    16 years ago

Depending on care and the sequence of events and observable changes, poor root growth, stunted growth, and yellowing are also common symptoms of herbicide and insecticide damage (and accumulated).

• legacy
    16 years ago