Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
babygr33nthumb

Friend or Foe?

BabyGr33nThumb
12 years ago

First let me say thank you very much for all of the help I have gleaned as a lurker. :) I am very new to gardening and despite a continuing whitefly issue I haven't given up (though I have wanted to.) on my first container garden. So..on to my dilemma. I am not sure what larvae/worms are good guys or not. I took this pic this morning of this worm & these eggs on my zucchini plant & side of container:

{{gwi:41556}}

{{gwi:41557}}

And this guy nestled in the stalks of my eggplant leaves:

{{gwi:41558}}

Are these bad guys?

Comments (4)

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    12 years ago

You can pretty much count on it that no caterpillar like creature is your friend. They have voracious appetites and they're always vegetarians. (In my book, the insect carnivores are the good guys and the vegetarians are competing with me for the same food.)

All kidding aside, the caterpillar and eggs are probably from some beetle that eats cucumbers and their relatives. Pick them all off and destroy them, including all eggs. Consider spraying with a broad spectrum organic pesticide like neem or spinosad.

I can't tell what the creature on your eggplant is from the photo, but he doesn't look like any beneficial insect to me. Show him the door.

• Joe1980
    12 years ago

I agree. Some people may argue, but caterpillars are indeed ALL enemies, at least as far as your plants are concerned. Some may argue that they turn into butterflies and moths, which do some good with their pollinating and such, but for your veggies, they are no good. The way I see it, there are plenty of hosts for different caterpillars, just not in our veggie gardens. As Ohiofem said, which I chuckled at, "show him the door".

Joe

• BabyGr33nThumb
    Original Author
    12 years ago