Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengolfer

Feeding New 37 Gal SWC for Fall Toms

gardengolfer
12 years ago

I would appreciate hearing about the latest approaches to feeding toms in SWCs. I will use 3-2-1 medium, Pro Mix Bx, pine bark, and Perlite in a new SWC for fall. I am having decent results in a 22 gal SWC growing Better Boys but in this hellish Ga heat I'm having to water daily. With such heavy watering, both top and bottom, I'm finding it necessary to apply liquid fert weekly. Im a novice when it comes to SWCs so hearing how experienced growers are fertilizing tomatoes would be great.

Larry

Comments (6)

• btbarbara
    12 years ago

Can't help with the SWC question but I'm in GA too and want some fall tomatoes. I killed the only one I had earlier. If I get some seedlings now, would it be possible to get a fall crop? I've seen some of the garden centers around here practically giving away the smaller plants and I wondered if it was too late and too hot for them to do anything this year.

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    12 years ago

Technically, you shouldn't be watering from the top with a SWC. I have one SWC this year and lately I have to fill the 1.5 gal. reservoir daily. The tomato plant is feeding great from the cup of fertilizer I spread around the perimeter of the container before I covered it. I'm not sure how much fertilizer would be required for a 37 gal SWC, but whatever it is, it should do the trick. There are many threads on the subject. I'm having a lot of fun with my lone SWC. I'm growing a Rutgers in it, and the plant is going wild, looks teriffic, and is setting lots of tomatoes.

bt.........seems like you could almost still squeeze in a 3 month growing season in Georgia. I would definitely try it. What do you have to lose.

• gardengolfer
    Original Author
    12 years ago