Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nycgarden

Young tomato leaves discoloration

nycgarden
12 years ago

Hello fellow gardeners,

I was hoping someone has come across this issue before and can offer me some advice.

My tomato plants are getting some odd discoloration on the tips of young leaves at the top of the plant. (See picture below)

{{gwi:41786}}

I use a commercial potting mix (perlite and peat mostly) that I amended with a tbs of garden lime and slow release fertilizer. I also use a 10-10-10 water soluble fertilizer once every 2 weeks (1/2 tbs per gallon).

The plants are quite large and my first thought is that they have become root bound.

Fruit production does not seem to have been affected.

They are in 10 gal Rubbermaid containers on top of a roof in NYC.

Here is a link that might be useful: My Gardenblog

Comments (11)

• redshirtcat
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Looks to me like they are lacking magnesium but I'm no expert.

• terrybull
    12 years ago

Scientific Name
    Alternaria solani

Identification

Circular to angular spots with dark, concentric rings (target spots) develop on the older foliage
    Severe infections spread to younger leaves
    Lesions become quite large and are often associated with considerable leaf yellowing
    Fruit infections are not common, but may appear as a blackened area at the stem-end
    Often Confused With
    Bacterial Canker (Early blight may cause browning of leaf edges, similar in appearance, but a lighter brown than bacterial canker symptoms.)
    Septoria Leaf Spot (Early blight lesions grow much larger than Septoria lesions.)

Period of Activity
    Early blight overwinters in infected crop residue. Spores are present throughout the growing season and may be carried long distances in the wind. Temperatures of 17- 24�C (63- 75�F) and extended leaf wetness favour early blight development.

Scouting Notes