Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sreyan_gw

Nutrient deficiency / excess in Citrus

sreyan
9 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to container gardening and citrus plants. I repotted the plant after I got it from the nursery a month ago as they suggested, and I've noticed some new growth.

The growth however seems to be a different color than the rest of the plant, with a red / purple tint (circled in the image)

Questions:
* With respect to the reddish leaves: Is this an indication of nutrient deficiency / excess?
* With respect to the strange growth: Is this a pest or insect I need to eliminate? It looks like the plant but is different that the other new growth.

Thanks,
Sreyan

Comments (18)

• sreyan
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here's the growth that doesnt look like the rest.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    9 years ago

I can't really see from the pic....but is that a purplish flower bud?

Also, a detail of those leaves would help. Plant leaves appear to be stippled, as with severe mite damage.

Josh

• sreyan
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi Josh, thanks for your help!

I'm doing some posts in succession because I can't figure out how to post more than one image at a time.

This image is for scale. The plant in question is the citrus with the tiny leaves. It's in a ~8" pot. The other citrus plants with the large leaves are in the 6" pot.

• sreyan
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here is a picture of the leaf enlarged as much as I could. Hopefully it's better than what I got with my cellphone this morning.

In case there are mites, I've sprayed all three citrus trees down with a lot of rubbing alcohol. I'm not sure if that's effective against mites however. What are recommended treatments?

• sreyan
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here's the mysterious growth. I didn't think it could be a flower bud because the plant is so small.

Should I be concerned that it's flowering at such a small size and thus making a last ditch effort to propagate?

• sreyan