Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bandie528

NJ Rains and Container Gardening, Help?

bandie528
10 years ago

Hello!

It is my first time gardening, and I live in an apartment with a great back porch with full sun, but am not allowed to plant in the ground. So, now, I'm a first time gardener planting in containers!

We've been doing pretty well, but I'm afraid for my tomatoes. They started showing symptoms of overwatering last week, and now... with this week of rain, what can I do to protect them?

I have them in plastic containers with round cages, and today moved all of my plants underneath the upper neighbor's deck. It is a deck though, so I covered the cages with garbage bags to try to prevent too much water reaching them.

I also have been perusing these forums for a week, and have learned that I need to fertilize (didn't know that before). So, how should I go about fertilizing with all of this impending rain?

Please advise.

I have 5 tomato plants: Early Girl, Beef-type Staking, Golden Plums, Romas, and a purple Heirloom. They have all been flowering and setting tomatoes (the beef-type has been the slowest producer with only 2 fruit set, vs 32 on the Roma).

I also have an okra plant that something ate last week (tragic), a bell pepper, a mini bell pepper, a squash that got half eaten last week, sugar snaps I probably planted too late, and 4 different basils.

I'm learning, and would love whatever advice you have on protecting from crazy rain, and how to fertilize when battling overwatering.

Thanks for your advice!

Comments (3)

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago