Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joraine_gw

are regular soil worms bad to have in a container?

Joraine
12 years ago

Are those regular earth/red/whatever soil worms bad to have living in the soil of a container that you're actively growing or sprouting in?

The containers are 1.5 liter soda bottles cut below halfway, inverted into the base and made as a self watering type, nothing fancy or large. The soil here is rather poor and this is just a hobby to grow random things so I find worms when it rains heavily and put them in my spare containers of soil thats slowly maturing from finely chopped quick rotting tropical flowers and leaves.

I just realized that I set a handful of containers that had some of those worms in them. Can I leave them in there or should I strip them down and reset w/o the worms?

Thanks!

Comments (10)

• cebury
    12 years ago

I'm no expert here. But in the short term they aren't bad, they just don't help much in a container. In the longer-term I've seen worms completely burrow, push, and/or consume out all the soil/media from sections of container trees. The roots then become dried/crispy.

In the earth where the ground is very compacted the burrowing action is extremely helpful to create macropores for aeration and water flow and their byproduct is beneficial when other microbial life helps break it down. In a container, the soil should already be (relatively) aerated and without compaction and the other life forms aren't established to consistently help. Therefore, you don't want to further reduce your already limited space for the roots without the added benefits the worms normally provide.

If you search for a worm slurry, I think this forum has several recipes for gracefully removing them from a containerized plant. I think mustard is commonly used, not sure.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    12 years ago