Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Potting on perennials

Posted by jazzyk UK (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 16, 13 at 17:50

Hi I am new to this forum and based in Cambridge,UK. I am also very new to gardening.
I bought a number of young perennials - yellow storkbill, potentialla arc de ciel, night whisper daylily, tangerine dream coneflower and alstroemeria inca exotica in containers in March this year. I immediately loosened the rootball and potted them into a pot with compost 1-2inches larger than the original. The plants have all successfully grown and currently flowering. I realise that I can see some visible presence of roots through the bottom drainage holes - however the roots are not coming out of drainage holes yet. I have read so many suggestions but I am still unclear when to pot onto a larger container. Post-flowering in Autumn which will help protect roots over winter or next spring?

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
Thanks JazzyK

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Potting on perennials

With my perennials I am always making more of them either by division or cuttings. Most require cutting back to make a fuller plant, and all those cuttings are easily rooted for most perennials. I have built up good inventories of Altromerias and Daylilies through divisions. Al

o

Thanks for information regards cuttings/divisions. But to clarify perennials are very young plants so they currently are 4L containers. At this stage I don't think they are mature enough to take cuttings/divisions - I thought you divide them once 2-3 years old. So I was wanted to replant them into a large container but I am unsure whether I can do this now while they are in active growth and flowering or wait til either autun or next spring.

o