Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardening_guy

Watermelons for containers

gardening_guy
12 years ago

Hi there!

I've ready a lot today about trying watermelon in containers. There seems to be a consensus on getting bush type watermelons, and those with dwarf growth. I've heard "Garden Baby" which, from my understanding, isn't the same as "Bush Sugar Baby". Also read to get Golden Midget, Gold Baby and Cream of

Saskatchewan. What got my interest is that so many people had success with Garden Baby, but I can't find anyone that sells that variety! Help, can anyone tell me where to buy those seeds, if there is anything better (that's they've actually grown), or if it's the same thing as Sugarbaby Bush. I'm growing here in souther California, and will probably be using a 15-25 gallon black tub. Thanks a ton in advance for any advice.

Comments (3)

• Azinine
    12 years ago

I'll just show you what I've got going on this year. This is my first time growing a watermelon so I am certainly not an expert. But, so far so good!

This is a sugar baby in a 5 gallon SWC. Using a tomato cage as a trellis. It's growing quite vigorously. A couple of the vines have grown over the top of the cage, all the way back down, and are in the process of growing back up again. I have 3 melons on there so far. Below is a pic of the biggest one.

So, I'm not sure how it will all turn out (perhaps 5 gallons isn't enough?) but it looks good so far.

{{gwi:44188}}

{{gwi:44190}}

• btbarbara
    12 years ago