Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fred_in_maine

Miracle Grow --- How Often?

Fred_in_Maine
18 years ago

I have read that the frequent watering required for container gardens leaches out nutrients.

I am brand new to gardening and, since I know zero about organic methods of replenishing nutrients, I am relying on Miracle Grow this first year.

I am using 5-Gallon buckets to grow tomatoes, bush beans, cucumbers, eggplant, squash and peppers.

Can anyone offer some advice about how often I should be adding Miracle Grow to my soil waterings? Can this be overdone?

Also frequency of foliar feedings? Can this be overdone?

I gave my plants a foliar feeding with a very dilute solution of Miracle Grow two weeks ago and the results were astonishing!!! As an experiment I did not foliar feed one of my tomato plants and it is only 3/4 the size and 1/2 the density of all the others that got the foliar feast.

It would be nice to know that I can do this with some frequency but I would hate to make the mistake of over-applying my enthusiasm and harming my babies.

Thanks for any wisdom. Fred

Comments (8)

• lighter
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

What I do?- I like to put about a 1/4 of the reccommended amount into my water jug about once a week. Now that we are in intense heat in Texas, I do it a little smaller (about a half a teaspoon to a gallon) every other day- we have to water here every day with our containers!!

Just don't overdo it and be sure not fertilize- even a little- during the day with the sun and heat. This will surely burn your babies!

• Fred_in_Maine
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Al, Thank you so much! Very practical advice, Al, about checking leaf color. This makes a lot of sense to me.

Most of my plants look pretty green so I'll just keep an eye on their color. They all get full sun and the days are long in Maine this time of year. Most days a "finger test" shows moist soil. Rain has been plentiful.