Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donna_h

Best 'Basic' Mix For Vegetable Growing SWC's?

donna_h
14 years ago

This is my first year with SWC's and I'm looking to improve the growing medium since I've had mixed results with a mixture composed of peat, compost and perlite.

I've been reading a LOT about Al's mixes and was wondering if anyone had come up with a basic all-purpose mix for veggies that worked well in this type of container. I would also be interested to know what type of fertilizer schedule was used in conjunction with the mix.

I did run across this posting from Al:

"7 bark fines

2 peat

1 perlite

1 vermiculite

1 tbsp garden lime/gallon

would probably be a very good mix for SWCs.

For a fertilizer program, I would use something with a 3:1:2 ratio like MG 24-8-16 for the first month after potting, then switch to a 1:2:2 ratio like 5-10-10 or even a 1:1:1 blend such as the 14-14-14 you're using. Please be sure your plants are getting the secondary macronutrients and all the minors. Ca and Mg are particularly important."

Just wondering if anyone has improved and/or modified Al's mix and what the experiences of those using SWC's has been.

Thanks for the help!

Donna H.

Comments (17)

• justaguy2
    14 years ago

Donna,

There are a number of threads on this very topic scattered throughout perhaps the first 3 pages of this forum. Raybo is currently testing a large number of mix combos in his homemade EarthTainer design and there are many other users of SWC here including those using commercial units and homemade.

I mention the above only to say I don't think anyone has a 'perfect' mix. One of the reasons for this is that every SWC is different, climates are different, plant water demands are different etc. Even saying use pine bark is vague because it comes in such variable sizes and the size of the particles in the mix directly influence how water retentive it is.