Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pepper_d0g

Fabric Aeration Containers

pepper_d0g
14 years ago

Good Morning all,

I was wondering if anyone can share their experience with these type of pots? From what I have read about them it all makes sense to me. I started using them a couple of weeks ago when I planted my pepper seedlings in 3 gallons. They fit perfectly in inexpensive plant stands from the dollar store. I think these will be great here in Florida. You can't beat the drainage and aeration. Opinions?

Ken

Comments (99)

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    13 years ago

I've been using smart pots for container vegetables for three years, and I love them. I was using a mix of two parts soil-less medium and one part compost in whiskey barrels and 20-25 gallon smart pots, and found that drainage was much better in the smart pots. I had to water the smart pots much more often than half barrels of the same size. I didn't understand what was going on until I started reading Al's posts on container soils and water retention, but now it all makes sense. The smart pots are more like mini-raised beds when they are in direct contact with the ground, so you can use heavier soils in them. Now I plan to use the 511 mix in the whiskey barrels and a different soil, including sand and compost, in the smart pots. I'm still trying to figure out the right mix. The one thing you need to do with fabric containers is to be willing to water more often.

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    13 years ago

Hello Everyone...

Interesting thread...Enjoyed seeing these great "smart Pots"..

They look like they could really be helpful in many ways..especially with a good "mix" LOL..

The main reason that i wanted to post something here...is to Pepper Dog....because...i have a "pepperdog" here at home...he is a great little guy..(Mini Dashshund)...LOL..its probably a different reason why you are called that!! LOL...but it did catch my eye.. :)