Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
perelaj

5-1-1 and water conservation

perelaj
11 years ago

This is my first year using the 5-1-1 mix in my vegetable containers, and I've had great results. Everything grows more happily, and I'm getting a larger yield from the tomatoes and squash and beans. I also like the way I can flush the mix with a heavy watering. Sometimes I catch a whiff of a swampy, septic smell coming from the water exiting the container. It's good to know that I'm cleansing the mix.

The trade-off, of course, is a mix that doesn't hold water the way a peat-based mix does. I'm fine with that, but I'm a little concerned about wasting water. I find that, in this hot summer weather, I need to flood my containers with water twice a day to keep the plants happy. I need to keep watering, even as water is draining out of the bottom of the container, in order for the plant roots to get their full daily drink. (No, I don't believe that my mix is too coarse. If anything, I think it's a bit finer than true 5-1-1.) So, I'm wondering if there is a way to irrigate my plants and also not waste quite so much water in the process. I like to flush my containers once or twice a week, not once or twice a day. Also, I get my water from a well, and wells have been known to go dry in summer.