Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zippelk

NAPA product to replace Turface

zippelk
13 years ago

What NAPA product do you use instead of Turface? I have read people say Floor Dry (8822) but that product number brings up the name Oil Absorbent Diatomite (http://www.napaonline.com/Search/Detail.aspx?R=NOD8822_0006414227#). Same stuff? thanks

Comments (26)

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I cant help you specifically, but I did see where a guy on a bonsai site did a test by letting the NAPA stuff soak in water for a specific amount of time and it did break down into mush. I have no experience with it though.

• puglvr1
    13 years ago

Zip, try the thread/post below...very informative and hope it will help you.

I can't speak for anyone else, but I've used it instead of Turface and it didn't turn to mush. Worked very well for me, it does hold a little more water than turface though.

Good Luck!

Here is a link that might be useful: Napa #8822 (Floor dry)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago

I've purchased only a few bags over time, but I've always found it to be entirely stable - even after freezing overnight in water & unthawing.

On a size for size basis, the floor dry holds more water. It has a little better CEC, but it has a higher pH, coming i at 7.0 as opposed to Turface's 6.2.

Al

• jojosplants
    13 years ago

I'm using it in a few containers and it's holding up fine. :) and my plant is doing very well.

Zip.. "Oil Absorbent Diatomite" sounds like the product description.

JoJo

• gtippitt
    13 years ago

NAPA sells two different oil absorbents. One is made from clay. and the other is made from Diatomaceous earth (DE).