Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txsummer_gw

Poppies in containers?

txsummer
18 years ago

I would like to try to seed poppies and keep them growing in containers. Please advise whether this is feasible as I am still learning about container planting, but LOVE poppies (also a newbie to this area of plant). By the way, I am in TX, so if anyone can suggest a poppy variety that will be able to take the heat, please let me know :)

Thanks in advance!

Comments (4)

• ljrmiller
    18 years ago

I've grown poppies in containers, both by accident and on purpose. The "on purpose" was icelandic poppies (Papaver nudicaule) I bought for spring color. They fade out/die/go dormant once it gets hot. The "accidents" were California poppies in my containers out front, because they just up and seeded themselves there. They do just fine in the heat. If anything, I had to weed to put other plants into the containers. The other "accident" was an opium poppy seed that landed in a pot during my seed-slinging. It was the ONLY seed out of tens of thousands slung to germinate. This variety needs a fair amount of water and prefers cool weather. After setting seed, it (and I expected this) died.

• txsummer
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks! I'll try the CA poppies then...and venture to Icelandic and Opium poppies for Spring. If I can have poppies that flower (even for a brief season) I'll be more than happy :)

• romando
    18 years ago