Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dendie_26

Figs & Passion Fruit in Containers

Dendie_26
9 years ago

I'm just so thrilled and relieved to have found this website!
I just purchased a Giant Texas Blue Fig and a Golden Passion Fruit Vine...I grew up with both figs and "purple granadillas" not golden--in Southern Africa.
I am now attempted to grow them both in containers on my large lanai - still don't know what size to select for either. I will trellis the vine against the wall of the lanai of course, but since I'm new to planting fruit trees/vines, I need to be spoonfed the information on the size planters. What depth, what width? Can anyone out there help?

Comments (5)

• Jay Part Shade (Zone 10B, S21, Los Angeles)
    9 years ago

I grow two kinds of figs in 15 gal pots and they produce like crazy. One was planted from a tiny cutting at the beginning of the year and it has about 20 figs on it now. Since you can prune figs to whatever size you want, you can even go with a small pot, I've seen them in as small as 3 gal producing figs. Of course, the bigger you go, the more figs you get.

As for passion fruit, the same thing goes. If you let it go crazy, it'll become a huge woody vine that takes over fences. Or you can trellis it up a pole and keep it small. Again, depends on your space and how much fruit you want. Hope that helps!

• arbo_retum
    9 years ago

Here in urban z. 5, a friend's Sicilian immigrant father grew fig trees in their yard, and in the fall, he sank them down, horizontally into a deep trench and covered them w dirt til spring, when they were resurrected. Another friend here planted a passion flower vine next to her dryer outlet, and it lives on.

• renais1
    9 years ago