Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dfish1_gw

Water Logged 5:1:1 Mix

DFish1
9 years ago

I'm completely new to this, and read all of the good information posted here. I made up a batch of 5:1:1 mix to pot some new plants. I used 2 cf of GreenAll Micro Bark, 5 gal of sphagnum moss, and 5 gal of coarse perlite. I put window screen in the bottom of the pots to retain the mix.

One pot out of six has a terrible problem with drainage. Even after sitting for three hours, there was still standing water. I pulled everything out and re-potted with new mix. It is now draining well.

All I can think of is that I watered the mix when the pot was about 1/3 full of dry mix. Looking at the screen, it looked like the moss had migrated to the bottom and had completely sealed off the window screen.

Next time I make up a batch of mix, I'm thinking about using less peat moss. Are there better alternatives than peat moss in a 5:1:1 mix to prevent water logging?

Thoughts????

Comments (16)

• oxboy555
    9 years ago

Correctly made and correctly mixed, 5-1-1 shouldn't water log right off the bat, although it can seem to stay 'moist' for a long time for indoor plants. Outside during summertime, 5-1-1 should be pretty darn dry..at least thru the root zone...if you were to withhold water for say a week.

After a year or two, 5-1-1 can get a little mushy at the bottom depending on how much you water.

Seems like you jumped in with both feet. Folks new to 5-1-1 and Gritty may want to make up a small batch, plant a sacrificial plant and just get the hang of how the ingredients work together, as well as the routine of watering/drainage.

-Did you add lime?
    -Did you add fertilizer in the mix or do you plan to use liquid? Don't wait more than a few days to give a very diluted shot of liquid fert.
    -Are you making sure the water that comes out the drainage holes can in no way reestablish contact with the soil mix back up through the holes?

• DFish1
    Original Author
    9 years ago