Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joshuac1v8

advice on rooting plumeria

joshuac1v8
9 years ago

I just recieved 3 plumeria cuttings appr 12 to 14 inches long. They were given as a gift from my sister who just got back from Hawaii. Ive been reading up on getting them rooted and im already a big user of Al's gritty mix, which is what I'll prob use to pot them.
My main concern is im not sure if i should try potting them up now or possible keeping them through winter because of where I live (only about 2 1\2 months of hot weather left). They also have a wax coating at the base and im not sure if i should cut this off when time to plant or just leave it on??
Like i said im a complete newbie to plumeria's and any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (7)

• jodik_gw
    9 years ago

There is a Plumeria forum... and you might get better and more in depth answers to your specific questions there.

I'm not sure about the wax coating, but I know they need to form a callous before you can root them... from what I understand, you would take cuttings, then allow them to callous for 2 weeks (kind of like cacti).

Then, you would pot them, and since they don't require a lot of light for the rooting process, keep them out of direct sun. I used bottom heat to root mine, which seemed to speed up the process a bit. I also kept the potted cutting under greenhouse-like conditions by covering the container with a baggie to keep in humidity.

I potted my Plumeria cutting in a clear disposable plastic cup so I could see root formation better. I also adjusted my Gritty Mix so it held a little more moisture during the rooting process. Once it rooted and had top growth, I potted it in a bigger container using my standard Gritty Mix.

I also had to mist the cutting occasionally, as I recall, as it began to desiccate a bit.

Here is a link that might be useful: Plumeria Forum

• tavimh
    9 years ago