Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lemeurice_gw

OK to switch to gritty mix?

lemeurice
11 years ago

I have several potted ficus lyrata that are growing relatively well in traditional soil but each have several leaves that are browning at the edges. I'm itching to try Al's gritty mix and was wondering if now is an OK time to switch. I repotted them into slightly larger containers when I first bought them in May but that was right back into traditional soil. I've never fertilized them (forgive me, I'm new to this) and I'm off to pick up some Foliage Pro this afternoon. I'm just eager to try some of the great tips that I've learned on this forum but don't want to do too much too soon and stress my trees.

Any thoughts? I appreciate any and all input :)

Comments (6)

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    11 years ago

Unfortunately I can't speak to ficus. I'm about to pot-up a small grapefruit tree I've had growing in gritty mix since the spring. Not sure what size pot you are using, but the mix can be heavy. Just keep the possibility of using perlite as a substitue for some of the granite if you are using a large pot. I'm sure some more experienced gritty mix users will chime in. Good luck.

• merlin
    11 years ago

FWIW, Al suggested waiting until early May to pot plants into the gritty mix as the optimum time for my climate, not autumn.

• lemeurice
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks so much for your thoughts edweather and merlinus. I've finally got all the ingredients for the gritty mix after a week of searching but I may need to put off this endeavor until Spring.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    11 years ago