Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mea2214

Overwintering Containers

mea2214
18 years ago

I've been doing my container garden for many years now and one thing I'm still confused about is how to overwinter certain perennials in containers. Currently I've set up light rooms, one using flourescents and one with an HPS flowering light, to overwinter certain perennials by keeping them thinking it's still warm and there is still light. Here in Chicago it gets cold and a lot of perennials that should come back if planted in the ground don't. Some perennials, like the mints and chives are impervious to winter but others like sage simply won't survive outside in the winter in a container.

I have cool, dark space in a basement and garage that stays around 60F during the winter that I'd like to move many planters after cutting the plant back. I'm wondering if this will work. Theoretically I would think that the plant goes dormant in the winter so it really doesn't need light but does it need water? Does anyone else overwinter by bringing plants into a cool dark area for the winter?

In particular I recently propagated a bunch of strawberries in containers -- they just keep making new plants. :-) I'd prefer not to have to put all of these under lights and for sure they won't survive outside and I'd hate to lose them since next year should be a fruiting year for them. If I could just put these in the dark basement and forget about them that would be great.

Comments (19)

• username_5
    18 years ago

If you leave your plants out until the cold kills them to the ground (or top of the container in this case) most should do fine in a cool basement. It would be a mistake though to keep them under lights for reasons Al mentioned.