Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donna_h

My First Year With SWC's - Notes From A Complete Beginner

donna_h
14 years ago

I thought it might be helpful for those considering gardening in SWCs if I posted my results.

First, a little background:

1. I am located in central Wisconsin, zone 4b. The 2009 growing season here has been brutal. A very cool spring prevented me from putting my plants out until June 6th. This was exasperated by a very dry spring and then a summer that was equally dry except for those periods when it rained for 3 days straight and was hot and humid before and afterward. This occurred about two times per month.

2. Because I am gone frequently during the summer, I set up automated watering system with a timer and drip irrigation set to come on twice a day for 15 minutes each time. This year, it was probably a godsend to have this since it was unusually hot and dry.

3. I used the double 3-gal and 5-gal bucket system since I can purchase them for 50 cents a piece locally. I used ½" PVC for the fill tubes (which I already had), 6 oz. yogurt cups or 24 oz. cottage cheese containers (which I already had) for the wicking basket that had slits cut along the sides. Better grade landscape fabric was laid in the bottom of the upper bucket to prevent excess potting mix from dropping into the reservoir bucket.

4. I started all my plants from seed, except for the strawberries which I obtained through a mail-order source.

5. Since I knew little to nothing about "soil-less" mixes or growing in containers, I opted to follow the information contained in Ed SmithÂs publication entitled Incredible Vegetables From Self-Watering Containers. The mix consisted of peat moss, perlite and compost. I added his recommended "food" of Blood Meal, Phosphate, Greensand and Azomite. I also added powdered egg shells to help prevent blossom-end rot.