Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
culverplanter13

Growing Potted Amaranth Grain: A Science Project

culverplanter13
12 years ago

Greetings!

I am a student currently enrolled in a high school science research program. I have elected to study the "effects of biostimulants (organic matter) on the growth of amaranthus hypochondriacus (http://www.saltspringseeds.com/scoop/powerfood.htm)."

I am looking to grow, in a relatively compact space, a burgundy strain of the grain amaranth. I can afford, maybe a basic greenhouse or other planting materials up to $300-ish.

I have done some basic research - there really isn't a lot of information about the novel crop - that states the plant does not thrive / do well in pots. I'm not looking to grow the plants to maturation (up to 6-8 ft tall), simply to a couple of feet should do. I'm looking to grow maybe 5-10 plants. Is there any contraption/design that you, knowledgeable garden friends, might work? I literally have zero garden experience, but I am very excited to work with this beautiful crop!

I welcome any advice / words of wisdom / questions regarding my project.

Thank you in advance, and best of luck.

Culverplanter13

Comments (8)

• howelbama
    12 years ago

Culver, the problem that I see is that organics dont really work well with containers. The idea behind organics is thriving microbial life in the soil and containers are a closed system, the microbial life in a container is unstable at best. To test the organics effects you would be better off planting in the ground, or a large raised bed.

• howelbama
    12 years ago

Culver, the problem that I see is that organics dont really work well with containers. The idea behind organics is thriving microbial life in the soil and containers are a closed system, the microbial life in a container is unstable at best. To test the organics effects you would be better off planting in the ground, or a large raised bed.

• culverplanter13
    Original Author
    12 years ago