Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dizadncr_gw

gritty mix and wind

dizadncr
13 years ago

Hi - This is my first year using Al's Gritty Mix (thank you Al)and I'm a little worried about it staying put with heavy winds. (The forecast is for 60-70 mph winds here in the Pacific NW tonight.) Since it drains so well,the top layer is pretty dry. Do you think I need to take any precautions for the heavy winds or am I fretting about nothing?

TIA! Di

Comments (8)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    13 years ago

Di,
    the mix should have enough mass to hold itself in place....
    but you could always group your containers.
    You could place some stones on the top of the mix, just for the time being.

Probably nothin' to worry about ;)

Josh

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago

Are you worried about the plants blowing out or the soil blowing away? What are you doing - living in such a windy place!! ;o)

What Josh said, plus:

Wind can be a significant consideration anywhere, regardless of soil type. I've found I have a little less concern for trees in the gritty mix toppling over because it's somewhat heavier than most other soils. As far as toppling OUT of the container, I'd say it's about the same as any other medium - you'll need to take precautions against unestablished trees being blown from the container, no matter the medium.

Going a little further, I find that the blame goes at the feet of repotting and root-pruning, so there is a bit of a catch 22 involved. One side of the coin is that root pruning and repotting is required to keep some plants at peak vitality and growth rates. The other side is freshly repotted plants are more susceptible to being toppled out of the container.

I use various arrangements to keep toppling from occurring, but this is my favorite:
    {{gwi:6990}}

Excuse the appearance of the tree. It had just had a significant face lift. Think of a beautiful woman immediately after surgery. ;o)

'Hi' to Beth for me?

Al

• dizadncr