Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kea2_gw

bell peppers in a container?

kea2
16 years ago

Is it possible to grow bell peppers in a container? I'm a newbie. I planted some seeds from a supermarket yellow bell pepper in a little container of perlite and potting soil just to see what would happen. Amazingly, they germinated. Now what do I do?

Unfortunately, I don't have a yard, though I do have a patio. Can I grow them in a big container?

Comments (6)

• biermaster
    16 years ago

you can grow about 4 bells in a 15 gal tub. see the string on fax earth box. I have tried more but seem to end up with 5 each time. See al's container mix string on what to put in your box. I have one set of bell's that are going on three years. I have cut them back each ball and built a plastic green house to keep them growing thru the winter here. I transplant them each spring when they start to form new leaves into fresh container mix. I use a lot of the blue stuff at least every other week at half strength and have had good luck so far. I also grow two plants in a 5 gal bucket with a wire cage around them to keep them up right. It has worked for several years.

• greenhouser
    16 years ago

I'm growing bell peppers in large pots and they're thriving. All are full of peppers. Because of the severe drought here in TN they did better in pots than in the garden. I just moved them into my greenhouse for the winter.

• kea2
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks, that's good to know. I'll see if any of them make it past the seedling stage, first. I never have much luck with that. I have them on a South-ish facing window sill right now, where they receive morning sunlight. I have read that bell peppers are easy to over-water. What would be the best method of watering the seedlings?

• georgeiii
    16 years ago

{{gwi:51842}}
    {{gwi:51843}}
    {{gwi:51844}}