Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rubyjchang

Help! Al's Gritty Mix: crushed granite alternative?

Ruby Chang
12 years ago

I am highly suspecting the presence of a root rot agent (fungi maybe?)in my MG soil. As a beginner gardener, I have been reluctant to make my own potting mix because I am afraid of messing up the proportion/pH of DIY potting mix. But, after the death of another gardenia (which is previously doing wonderfully, until transplant into this awful soil, this happened twice already), I am bound determined to try out Al's Gritty Mix. I am very excited, since it seems perfect! Great drainage, durable, and fungal-gnats discouraging.

However, I am having the hardest time finding Gran-I-Grit, chicken grit, cherrystone #2 online (I am currently a college student, and does not drive yet, so it would be very difficult to go out and find things).

Is there possible alternatives to crushed granite? (gravel, aquarium rocks/pebbles, lava rocks)

Thank you so much for any input and help! I greatly appreciate it.

Ruby

Comments (23)

• meyermike_1micha
    12 years ago

First of all let me say that you are making a GREAT choice in your endeavor to set your Gardenia in an alternative more appropiate mix, just as all mine are in.

I have found that perlite can a great substitute if screened. Some use small crushed stones, Silica course sand, a (#10 filter gravel), as long as the sizes are appropiate.

Good luck

Mike

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    12 years ago

Mike's right. Any material in the 1/8" size range that has no internal porosity can be substituted.

Where do you live? It would be helpful if you added that to your user info (like my 'z5b-6a mid-MI').

Al

• chicagardens
    12 years ago