Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hi Im new!

Posted by pastlife Sunset 14 (My Page) on
Tue, Oct 2, 12 at 23:06

Hello everyone. I am new. I am a horticulture student working on an Associate of Science in Hort. I have three certificates from the local college in horticulture already and my next step is to become a California certified nurseryman, master gardener, and getting my QAL. I have vast amounts of knowledge, but little experience. I currently live in an upstairs apartment, so I am very restricted. At least I can have my container garden for now. I work at a tree nursery which is awesome.

I am very curious about this Al's Gritty mix. What is this everyone is talking about, and why spend money on it? Isn't it easier to just create your own potting mix? I make mine out of humus/worm castings, composted fir bark, coco coir, sand, vermiculite, pumice/perlite, and compost. I use espoma fertilizers and adjust ph with either dolomite lime or granule sulphur.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hi Im new!

Al's gritty mix IS creating your own potting mix, it's just that the recipe is already there. If you are curious why a lot of people use it, read the "Container soils - Water movement & retention" thread on this forum (click the link). It actually is quite interesting!

Here is a link that might be useful: click me!

o

Congratulations on your choice of studies. And working in the industry will be a learning experience of at least as much value as your studies. On the job training may often seem to be just a job, doing the same thing over and over. The real value is the experienced people you work with. Take full advantage of the knowledgeable people you work with.
As for the "gritty mix" its value is its longevity, and simplicity,try it, you will like it. Al

o

Isn't it easier to just create your own potting mix?