Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gwood_gw

Container Friendly Tomato Plants

gwood
12 years ago

I am new to container gardening and wanted to hear some different opinions on the best kinds of tomatoes to grow in a container.I want plants that won't grow out of control. So something that grows like a small bush maybe. Any recommendations for cherry/regular size tomato plants would be great! Thanks!

Comments (11)

• dickiefickle
    12 years ago

How big of a container ? Determinte(sometimes called bush Varieties) plants are what you are describing. A 5 gallon container is about the minimum you can use and still have fair results.
    Rutgers are a popular variety grows well and has some disease resistance
    Black Seaman is a nice black tomato,tasty
    Russian Persimmons is a pretty yellow/orange that tasts fantastic
    Jagodka is a tasty cherry

Check out the link for more toms than you ever seen before

Here is a link that might be useful: Tomato base

• terrybull
    12 years ago

bush goliath

• tania_in_vancouver
    12 years ago

gwood,

I'd recommend tree-type tomatoes for container growing - they are also called 'dwarfs' - you can find a list of these tomatoes here -

Tatiana

Here is a link that might be useful: Dwarf tomatoes by color

• jon_z6b
    12 years ago

I think I have a winner of a tomato for this purpose. I'm going to put my "money" where my mouth is and give a free seed offer at the end of summer to those who would like to try it.

[(Bush Goliath x Jetstar) x Italian Tree] x OP

This year it's only F2 but the seedlings seem to be quite uniform. I'm going to pick the "better" seedling this year to OP, so the seed offered will be F3.

{{gwi:53029}}

{{gwi:53052}}

{{gwi:53053}}

{{gwi:53054}}

• dananj
    12 years ago

Jon, those plants look wonderful. Where are you that they are so big and blooming? I look forward to seeds in the fall.
    Dana

• fortyonenorth
    12 years ago