Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Container Friendly Tomato Plants

Posted by gwood 6 (My Page) on
Tue, Oct 4, 11 at 23:35

I am new to container gardening and wanted to hear some different opinions on the best kinds of tomatoes to grow in a container.I want plants that won't grow out of control. So something that grows like a small bush maybe. Any recommendations for cherry/regular size tomato plants would be great! Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Container Friendly Tomato Plants

How big of a container ? Determinte(sometimes called bush Varieties) plants are what you are describing. A 5 gallon container is about the minimum you can use and still have fair results.
Rutgers are a popular variety grows well and has some disease resistance
Black Seaman is a nice black tomato,tasty
Russian Persimmons is a pretty yellow/orange that tasts fantastic
Jagodka is a tasty cherry

Check out the link for more toms than you ever seen before

Here is a link that might be useful: Tomato base

o

bush goliath

o

gwood,

I'd recommend tree-type tomatoes for container growing - they are also called 'dwarfs' - you can find a list of these tomatoes here -

Tatiana

Here is a link that might be useful: Dwarf tomatoes by color

o

I think I have a winner of a tomato for this purpose. I'm going to put my "money" where my mouth is and give a free seed offer at the end of summer to those who would like to try it.

[(Bush Goliath x Jetstar) x Italian Tree] x OP

This year it's only F2 but the seedlings seem to be quite uniform. I'm going to pick the "better" seedling this year to OP, so the seed offered will be F3.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

o

Jon, those plants look wonderful. Where are you that they are so big and blooming? I look forward to seeds in the fall.
Dana

o