Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Dumb Newbie Question here about the best soil?

Posted by jungleexplorer 7 (My Page) on
Fri, Nov 18, 11 at 10:36

Before a I start, let me just say. Yes, I did do a search before posting this question.

I have some indoor pepper plants. On a different thread, I have been scolded for using Miracle Grow Moist Control Garden Soil (Hey, I said I am a newbie).

Many have instructed me to change the soil on my plants and I do plan on doing that once my current crop of pods ripen and are harvested. But I don't know which kind of soil to use. I have seen reference to 5-1-1 soil, but I have no idea what 5-1-1 soil is or where to get it. I did a search on this forum using this term and found a lot of references to 5-1-1 soil, but not where to get it from.

So, even though I am sure this question has been asked a thousand times (I wish I could find them), what is the best soil for my indoor pepper plants and where do I get it?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Dumb Newbie Question here about the best soil?

I've included a link to an excellent thread on "Water Movement and Retention." It's the place to begin if you're interested in perfecting your container soils. The 5:1:1 mix is a custom mix comprised of five parts pine bark fines, one part spaghnum peat and one part perlite. It is referenced near the bottom of the opening post in that thread.

Once you read through the thread you may have more questions, but this is a great primer.

FWIW, I've been growing peppers and tomatoes in the 5:1:1 for several years with excellent results.

Here is a link that might be useful: Water Movement and Retention

o

Hey, Jungle!

Welcome to the Container Forum! Indeed, the link posted above is precisely where I learned
of the 5-1-1 and the Gritty Mix proper. Indoors, over the winter, I use the Gritty Mix to allow
for maximum drainage and aeration (so that my peppers aren't sitting in cold, wet soils for
days on end).