Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
acg85

Al's 5-1-1/Gritty Mix - Colorants in the Pine Bark ?

acg85
10 years ago

Hi All,

This newbie has been poring through the tapla 5-1-1 and Gritty threads, and am beginning to appreciate the concepts behind them.

Only thing I haven't noticed (or have missed) in the posts was mention of colorants in the pine bark.

I was looking into trying Al's 5-1-1 for vegetables in containers next season, and it seems that nothing in the big and medium stores (particle size and suitability aside) is not dyed in some way. Seems it's a selling point for a "mulch" (which is the only pine bark around here so far).

As "safe" as the colorants may be rated, think, I'd prefer natural bark for this vegetable use (wouldn't give it a thought if the mix was for ornamental plants).

Comments or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments (7)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Hi acg85 ...Welcome !

I am also a newbie when it comes to container growing. Because I am planning to do some container/pots planting , I have been educating myself in this forum.

ABOUT COLORANTS:
    I think you are talking about colored mulch which may or may not be mad of pine. I have used them as landscaping mulch. If it is made of pine, it is shredded and made from pine branches and trunk that probably was not suitable for making lumber. Or can be made from the next layer under the bark. It can also be made similarly from cedar or other wood. They usually come in red and black color.

Pine or fir BARKS are mostly bagged and sold uncolored. That is what they are using in 5: 1:1:and orchid potting mix ; ALL NATURAL PINE BARK (NUGGETS,)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    10 years ago

Yes, indeed, as Seysonn says, the colored mulch is often sapwood or other parts of the tree. This is unacceptable for our purposes. You want natural pine or fir bark - the fine-grade kind that Orchid growers use.

Josh

• acg85
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the info.