Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
demeter_26

How much gypsum in gritty mix

demeter_26
13 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am about to plant a (3 gallon) Fairchild mango tree in a 25 gallon container using Al's gritty mix as the medium. I have the Turface, Granite grit, Pine bark and the Gypsum ready to be mixed. Could someone please tell me exactly how much gypsum to add to 25 gallons of gritty mix? This is my first time trying the gritty mix and I want be very exact on this part since I know that too much gypsum could burn the roots and too little would not lower the pH enough.

One other question: If I don't use the 9-3-6 foliage pro liquid fertilizer, is there another good liquid fertilizer that someone would recommend using in this mix that contains all the minors as well? And could a control release fertilizer(CRF)be used with Al's gritty mix?

After reading so many links and threads on this subject,

I would like to thank everyone, especially Al, for helping me up to this point in this project.

Jon

Comments (15)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

1.5 cups

Al

• demeter_26
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thank you Al.
    Home Depot sells a product called "soil acidifier."
    It says on the package that it's "derived from sulfur and gypsum." Al, does that seem to be within the parameters of what we are looking for or should we search for something else that just says gypsum on the label?
    Jon and Christine

13 years ago

Gypsum (MgSO4) neither raises nor lowers pH so that you'd notice. When I feel a need to lower pH, it's usually the soil solution I look to, and I do that by using white vinegar in the irrigation water.

Al

• demeter_26
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hi Al,
    Thank you for your quick response about gypsum and pH.
    I think, though, I made a very serious mistake.