Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
idabean2

newbie overwhelmed by gritty mix info

Marie Tulin
13 years ago

Gritty mix is new to me, and finding and mixing the ingredients seems like more than I can take on! It's the dead of winter in Massachusetts; there's a new 18 inches of snow, all the spaceI have a kitchen table to work on and my storage is in the basement....involving a very steep flight of stairs.

What is the simplest way to get the ingredients for this miracle mix? Is there an acceptable mix to which particular materials can be added for a good approximation of gritty mix?

I'm not a professional, so I don't need to start with a huge quantity.

Other than an amaryllis and orchid or two I've killed recently, I haven'tbeen serious about houseplants in decades.

However, I have six amaryllis and a beautiful orchid I've made a commitment to, and I'm willing to get serious.

I am an experienced outdoor gardener and used to experimenting and taking losses philosophically. But for some reason, I'm intimidated by this!

Comments (95)

• ykerzner
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I totally agree with Jodik: because of its longevity the gritty mix wins hands down for any long-term plantings (bulbs, succulents, cacti, shrubs, and trees come to mind). It is worth every ounce of effort you put into it.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago

I think there is a common misconception, promulgated by an overzealous one or two that infers that anyone that touts the use of the gritty mix or the 5:1:1 mix tells everyone they meet that you CAN'T grow healthy plants in commercially prepared bagged soils. This would be an example of people twisting reality to grease the skids that lead to a personal agenda, and couldn't be farther from the truth.