Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
newbie overwhelmed by gritty mix info

Posted by idabean (My Page) on
Tue, Dec 28, 10 at 2:37

Gritty mix is new to me, and finding and mixing the ingredients seems like more than I can take on! It's the dead of winter in Massachusetts; there's a new 18 inches of snow, all the spaceI have a kitchen table to work on and my storage is in the basement....involving a very steep flight of stairs.

What is the simplest way to get the ingredients for this miracle mix? Is there an acceptable mix to which particular materials can be added for a good approximation of gritty mix?

I'm not a professional, so I don't need to start with a huge quantity.
Other than an amaryllis and orchid or two I've killed recently, I haven'tbeen serious about houseplants in decades.

However, I have six amaryllis and a beautiful orchid I've made a commitment to, and I'm willing to get serious.
I am an experienced outdoor gardener and used to experimenting and taking losses philosophically. But for some reason, I'm intimidated by this!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: newbie overwhelmed by gritty mix info

Were I in your neighborhood I would gladly share with you. Perhaps you have a knowledgeable container gardener nearby. Look for a bonsai club in your town or county. Al

o

There are two bonsai shops in Mass that I would suggest Locations are
Bonsai West Littleton Mass ( Is that Rte 2a or 119 Mike ?) N.E Bonsai Bellingham Rte 126 S. both places have webb sites for hours and directions

Other shops are
Rte 146 N has a Worms Way and a manager that grows & displays orchids at the store other employees grow and display various plants there as well... from hydro crops to succulents there not really up to date on the " mix " you are looking for and you could be redirected to a bagged soil stick to your guns if you go here they're old school but still very knowledgeable with due respect.