Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vancouverwa_gw

Container Size for Mini-Dwarf Apple Trees?

vancouverwa
10 years ago

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I bought a mini-dwarf Braeburn apple tree. It is about 3-4 feet tall and is expected to grow to 6-8 feet. It is grafted onto M27 root stock. The container from the nursery is about 12 inches diameter. I plan on keeping the tree on my deck in a planter. How big of a planter should I buy for this tree?

Thanks! I'm a gardening newbie, been into it for about a year and have been having a blast!

Comments (10)

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    10 years ago

The bigger the better. Pots dwarf plants. The smaller the pot, the more dwarfed. It will survive, but at least an 18 inch pot. Maybe for a year or two than 20 inch. You can start smaller, say 16 inch, but increase pot size every year. Stop at 20 inch. Every few years change soil, trim roots.
    When you remove plant do it on a cloudy day. You should slice roots on 4 sides, blade should be about an inch in, maybe 2 deep. Slice an "x" on the bottom. This will stop roots from swirling. If they swirl too much the plant girdles itself.
    Water good once planted. The plant will need as much sun as possible. But keep it shaded the day of transplant, and slowly increase exposure over 2 weeks.

You can put it in bigger pots than 20 inches, but it is hard to handle, go as big as you can handle. i use dollys to move mine! Some are in 23 inch pots. I would transplant it after harvest most years. As the stress could cause it to drop buds if done in the spring. You could do it while dormant too.

• Ernie
    10 years ago

I agree with Drew -- I'd go with a pot in the 10-20 gallon range, which is generally 16" to 20" in diameter. I just planted some dwarf apples on Bud.9 rootstocks, and I opted for 20 gallon pots.

• vancouverwa
    Original Author
    10 years ago