Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lhayes1976

I just got a warning from Webmaster???

Lisa Hayes
18 years ago

Can somebody please explain the purpose to me. I just received a warning from the webmaster that I posted inappropriately on the alliums forum. The title of the post was "dumb question" and the question was "what happens to green onions if you leave them in the ground?" The webmaster stated that the title has to accurately describe the content. When I went back to the allium forum there are several posts that don't explain the content. Some examples are:

I can't stand it. . .

Oh, the horror . . .

Oh, dear. . . .

The only explanation I cam come up with is that I used the word "dumb". It was purely innocent. They also removed the post. Am I being paranoid?

Comments (10)

• ellen_
    18 years ago

Unfortunately, I think the reason your post was removed was that your question didn't reflect the nature of your question. I've been deling with this website for 7 or 8 years and somewhere along the line, we were advised to use words in the title of our questions that would alert others to the nature of our problem. For example, we were advised not to just use the phrase (help!) as it doesn't really describe what we're asking for "help" about. We were asked to mention the plant in need and also a word or two that would clue someone in as to what its needs might be. I saw your post. I love to grow garlic and look at that forum. But as I have grown few onions, especially green onions, can't help at all. But by seeing the title of your post, I didn't know whether the subject would be garlic, onions or something else. If your title had been something like "green onion problems", I wouldn't have even had to check it out as I know nothing about green onions. Try to be more descriptive with the titles of your questions and that way people can zero in on the areas they know.

• Lisa Hayes
    Original Author
    18 years ago