Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
theexcitedgrower

Just Started A Garden

TheExcitedGrower
11 years ago

Hello! I'm 16 years old and I just started a garden. I really need alot of help and information and I was hoping if I joined this forum you guys could help me along the way.

I started off by digging a patch ( i'm not sure the length ) probably around 7-10 feet by 4 feet.(this measurement is completlely wrong and I will be posting a picture tomorrow). The patch is about 2 inches deep of fresh bought soil. Now before I did this I plowed abunch of the soil from the natural Earth ( with a tool I dont know the name of ) and removed alot of the roots. Keep in mind I have no knowledge of gardening and I was very excited.. Anywho the soil seemed nice and smooth. So I evened it out. Then I layed the bought soil over the ground soil. There was abunch of clumps, so me and my brother went in and squished all the clumps, so that the soil was smooth. Then I leveled it all out.

Now this is why I came here becuase I was scared, that this might ruin the whole thing. The whole patch is BELOW ground level. The flat ground/grass around it it like about a inch or 2 above the patch. Now i'm pretty sure that's not good due to the fact I read alot about '' Raised Beds". We didn't buy enough soil. I'm a very impatient guy ( ironic becuase gardening takes alot of patience) I went in and planted everything.