Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steff442

Raised bed on top of walnut tree stump

steff442
13 years ago

I am new to gardening, but would like to try my hand at growing veggies in a raised bed this year. I have a black walnut tree stump exactly where I want the raised bed to be, and I was wondering if it would kill my tomatoes, peppers, etc?

My plan was to cut the stump down to ground level, cover with plywood, plastic, or cardboard, then put my raised bed on top of it. Would this work? Does it matter which of the aforementioned materials I should use? Should I remove the sawdust or would it be ok to incorporate into the soil?

Any advise would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (19)

• glib
    13 years ago

The sawdust juglone will disappear quickly, but the stump itself (and the large roots) is another matter. They need to degrade a lot before the juglone disappears. Tomato roots go down to 4 feet, so a root, and not the stump, may kill them.

There are two things that you can do to mitigate juglone. The first is to make sure the stump is well colonized with fungi, so that once you bury it under a fertile bed, its decay will go fast. The second is, in the stump immediate vicinity, you should plant only vegetables that are juglone-resistant. Any squash, melon, or watermelon, chard or beets, garlic or onions, any bean, any chicory, they will all manage.

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

I would strongly suggest you find another location. It would be a real shame to put so much work into your garden when it would be starting out with 2 strikes already against it.

If that is simply out of the question, then as glib suggested, limit yourself to resistant plants. Your production and plant health will still be affected as they are just resistant not immune to juglone.

Another, but expensive option, is to have the stump and the majority of the roots dug out and the area refilled with lots of fresh soil.

Dave

• jonhughes
    13 years ago