Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tbick

Amount of sunlight

tbick
10 years ago

Hi all,

I'm brand new to gardening so please forgive the simple questions. I am trying to determine where to put a garden in my yard. My options are limited due to trees surrounding my house.

My first question is when to measure sunlight. Does direct sunlight in the winter matter (November - February) ?

Although I have not measured, my best guess as to what my sun patterns would be is the following:
March - April: 2-3 hours direct sun
May - June: 4 hours direct sun
June - August: 6 hours direct sun
October - November: 2-3 hours direct sun
December - February: No direct sun

What should I be growing? Other posts seem to recommend leafy vegetables for this type of sun pattern. I realize these are generally spring/fall vegetables, but are they spring/fall vegetables only in a garden with direct sun during those seasons?

Thanks alot for the advice.

Comments (8)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Other posts seem to recommend leafy vegetables for this type of sun pattern. I realize these are generally spring/fall vegetables, but are they spring/fall vegetables only in a garden with direct sun during those seasons?

They are basically vegetables that will tolerate 'shade', defined as less than 6-8 hours of direct sun, and still do well. This, as opposed to the vegetables that require 6-8 hours of direct sun to prosper.

Your sun exposure pattern as you describe it would fall into the "shade gardening" category - lots of internet info available on it - since it would only have 6 hours of direct sun and then only for a limited time.

There are some ways to get around the problems of shade gardening explained in some of the articles linked below - using containers that can be moved as needed is one of the most common.

Hope this helps.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Shade Gardening

• tbick
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks digdirt,
    I appreciate the info.